Spinning Thoughts & Tales ~

…what is important…

We all have disappointments come our way.  Some have more than others.  Some seem to get whatever they want and when they want.  For many life is harsh and full of disappointments. For others, it is a waiting game or a test of patience.  I  have the test of patience quite often.  Perhaps it is because I often rush ahead trying to make a special day or whatever the case may be.   You see, I like to do things for others. (My friends – same – doing things for others!)  It is a lovely thing to bring joy to a special person and see a smiling  face at the end of the day.   I was a bit disappointed yesterday.  I suppose at any age – 5, 55, 95 I will still get disappointed.  But, oh well, that is life.  There are new and exciting things just around the corner. 

My friend Pam (one who does things for others too) and I were going to meet today and spend tomorrow at a writer’s conference.  It is not to be.  Reflecting on yesterday, the highs and lows, the twists and turns, I realized this is probably one of those “hindsight is 20/20” days.  One day we will see clearly the whys and the wherefores.  What is really important is our health.  Our contentment in what we have. We still have a roof over our heads, a job, etc.   We have much to be thankful for.

All this reflecting put me in mind of my nephew, Dale.  He is one of my favourites.  (I know we are not suppose to have favourites, but, he is one.)  Dale recently came back from a missions trip to Antigua, Guatemala.  While there, the team built 2 houses, distributed 105 wheelchairs, food and clothing to 14 families.  All in 4 days!!!!!  (The punctuation marks are his.)  Here are some photos to brighten your day.  We are blessed.  Having lived in Peru in the 1980’s I know first hand what poverty people live in.  Great poverty abounds in this old world, even in the richest nations.  Even in Canada.

The house before the team built the new one.  I believe a family of four lived there.  The family outside their new home.  Are you glad and thankful for your warm and cosy house?  New clothes and shoes.  Smiles and thankful hearts.  Dale and the team came home blessed!
See – this is what is important.  Giving to others!  The smiles and joy at the end of the day.
Comments on: "…what is important…" (1)

  1. lilacacres said:

    Dear Carol,

    Lovely post, how proud of Dale you must be ! Thank you for sharing this with us. It is what we can do for others that truly makes the world go ’round IMHO :)

    You and Herb will have some great time together. While we would have enjoyed the conference, we will have time to collaborate in the future ! Count on it !

    Thank you for being you – such a special, giving gal.

    Love to you,

    Pam

Comments are closed.

