Spinning Thoughts & Tales ~

Time is speeding by and not much is getting done.   There are just too many things on the plate.  I would love to just open the trash can and dump everything in.  Of course, I can’t do that.  But, I want to —  so badly.  Yesterday, Pam wrote in Under the Lilac Trees, how she just does not have enough time to write.  I concur.  The creative side is pressing in; ideas, dialogue, poetry and essays.  Therefore, I declare that we should have a day or two for the world to stop so we can DO what we want to DO, not what is necessary, full of responsibility, full of deadlines and too full of  life.  (Yeah – that will happen!)  Oh well, life is pressing on with all the prickly stuff.  So suck it up and get on with it.  There. 

Today, Pam’s written a lovely blog about the fragility of life.  You just never know when the door bell or the telephone will ring changing your life forever.   My choice is – do I look at life as the glass half full or the glass half empty?    Today, I chose to have the glass full.  I have no other choice.  “Full of what,” did you say?  Full of life and trying for contentment.  Life is messy which is probably why I have the broadest shoulders in the family.  My thought for today- just like the little engine that could – I think I can, I think I can.  I know I can.  I need to look to the deep well for the long cool, sustaining drink of water.  Yes, first the drink of water, then getting on with life.

So… onto the Big Ride update.  More donations are coming in for Herb’s ride to conquer cancer.  He is training almost every day.  On Sunday, we will go to Victoria for the day to see our friends from Texas, Carol and Joseph.  Much needed visit.  Herb will ride to the ferry and around Victoria until I get there in the afternoon.  Onto getting prepared with the proper gear for the big ride – found the butt balm, new socks, some great CLIF energy gel for a boost on the ride, printed the map to the camp site in Mount Vernon and the map to U  of Washington for the big celebration at the end of the big ride.  I found out the ride starts at Guilford Center not downtown Vancouver.  It will be an easier bike ride and the riders will not have to go through the tunnel.  I am supposing they will be using the truck border crossing into Washington state.  We are getting quite excited about the ride.  What an accomplishment for all the riders! 

Going to visit with mom early today.  She needs clean slips.  Thankfully, the care workers are putting a slip on her before the dress.  Yay.  Mom feels so much better now. 

Ta ta, enjoy your day.   Today is Lorna’s birthday.  Happy Birthday to Lorna.  I won’t tell you how old she is, but, lets just say, it is a big number.

Comments on: "… stop the world for a day or two …" (1)

  1. lilacacres said:

    Wouldn’t it be wonderful to do what we want to do vs what we have to ? Loved your post, glad your mom has been able to wear her slips. My mom is doing great, thank you for all the prayers.

    Off to do late chores !

    Pam

Comments are closed.