Spinning Thoughts & Tales ~

…care conference…

8 AM conference …

Thursday morning was the annual care conference for mama.  The usual report on mom’s health from the RN, the pharmacist, the nutritionist, the social worker, the physiotherapist, me and the resident doctor who chaired the meeting.  I don’t think he likes me.  Too bad, so sad and I will speak my mind.  I did speak my mind.  I did keep my sweet nature with more than a dash of confidence.  We did discuss some sensitive issues.  I will see what happens.  I will make an appointment with mother’s doctor and discuss the outcome of the care conference.  

When the physiotherapist introduced himself, I maintained my composure.  Internally, I was swearing profusely.  Why was he there?    There is no physiotherapy for mother.  None. Nada. Zip.  Zero.   I did express my displeasure.  Nothing will come of it.  You know that and I know that.  There was plenty of money for the winter games.  Now, there are budget cuts across the board, health, education, getting people off the street, getting people out of addictions, getting……   I was told there were changes coming.  An Ombudsman.  More care workers.  I think it is political speak to sound like something is being done when in reality it is the same old, same old.  The very sad thing is the people in the long term care homes are the very ones who helped build BC. 

Listening to each one read their reports, I did wonder who they were kidding.  Seriously, I had to remind them of several needs not addressed and to remind the care workers to check on mom’s CD player. ” If there is no sound coming from the room, go in and press the CD button or change the tape or change the CD, please! ”    How many would be happy to sit in a wheelchair all day, in the semi dark, with little or no music, news, or books to listen to.  Of course she is depressed!  I shake my head in amazement.  This is the future elderly people are facing.  Not pretty.  It is the bad and the ugly.  There is no good in the equation.  I am angry again.  Must stop now.

 

A sunset for your pleasure.

So…where ever you are, stay warm, stay loved and stay healthy. 

Oh, and save a lot of money, because you are going to need it for the future.

