Spinning Thoughts & Tales ~

This country I live in, the country I was born in, is 143 today, a relatively young nation compared to other nations.  We have much to be thankful for and a few things, not so much, and really,  every country has some ugly history. 

I was in grade school when  then Prime Minister, Lester B. Pearson, presented the notion of having our own flag to Parliament.  As part of the Commonwealth, Canada had a Union Jack in the left top corner with a coat of arms to reflect our ties to the United Kingdom.   I recently saw a documentary about the process  and selection of the new flag.   They got it right.  Love the red. Love the maple leaf.  Straight forward and unmistakable.    All other designs seemed to pale in comparison. 

Google changed their logo colours today in honour of our fete du Canada.  As a Canadian, there is nothing, nothing like seeing the flag in a far away country when lost and unable to speak the language very well.  Perhaps you have felt the same emotions upon seeing your nation’s flag in a foreign country.    Happy Canada Day.  Enjoy the fireworks.

Comments on: "One Hundred Forty Three" (2)

  1. Hello,

    Clicked over from Lucy’s site… I am Canadian too, happy birthday to us for yesterday!

    In terms of your mom, have you thought about good kids’ books or YA books? When I read your requirements, the Elizabeth Enright kids books popped into my head (The Saturdays series is good, but I would avoid Then There Were Five), or maybe the Princess Diaries series by Meg Cabot? Peter Gzowski, maybe? Not kids’ books, but I love the Morningside compilation books, and I would think a lot of the stories in those books would fit. James Herriott books? All of these would need to be screened by you, obviously, but I think these might be worth trying. Or what about Oprah magazine or Real Simple articles?

    Hope these ideas help, and I hope also that you are getting support with the difficulty of your mom needing so much from you.

    • Hello Rae,
      Thank you for the book ideas. I have a Peter Gzowski book, as well as a few YA books and, of course, Stuart McLean, Vinyl Cafe stories on the bookshelf. I’m going to start with Sarah, Plain & Tall, to start with. As I was meditating on the problem, it popped into my head to start with simple childrens or YA books. I think Mom has a James Herriott book or two in storage. I will have to look. I am going to try this and see what happens. Can’t hurt. Not much support, but, it is okay.

      Thanks for stopping by and giving me more ideas. I appreciate it. Pretty amazing women over at Lucy’s site, aren’t there?

Comments are closed.

