Spinning Thoughts & Tales ~

Honour…

Every November 1st, I buy two or three poppies to wear until November 12th.  I always loose one or two.  Wearing a poppy is a tradition for me.  Reciting “In Flanders Field” is another tradition.  Every school child, as far as I know, learns John McCrae’s poem.  How many of you can recite the poem?  Psalm 23 or the Lord’s Prayer or your nation’s anthem probably roll off your tongue with the same ease. 

Today is Rememberance Day.  We spend a leisurely morning, reading the paper, eating a great breakfast, and buying our tickets for the Vinyl Cafe. 

As the eleven o’clock hour neared, I wondered if there would be a moment of silence or business as usual.  It was business as usual.  I found that quite sad.   No moment of silence to remember and honour those who have fallen in the wars or have served, fighting for our freedom.  No reflection on the courage of veterans.  No thankful hearts.  No bowing of the head.  No standing up as a sign of honour.  Sad.  Very sad.  I think the managers should have stopped the music for the one minute.  An acknowledgement.  Perhaps, people did have their moment of reflection.  We had our moment of silence and giving thanks to every man and woman who fought for freedom.

My daughter in law send me a part of an email, her sister send; “A veteran is someone who, at one point in his life, wrote a blank check made payable to ‘Canada’ for an amount of ‘up to and including my life.’……  that is Honour and there are too many people in this country who no longer understand it.”

I hope people remember the cost, to risk one’s life fighting for freedom.  It is my hope, people will honour first responders too, not just veterans, but, those who serve our countries, our cities, and our towns, keeping us safe.

Do you know or knew someone who wrote the check made out to your country? 

Stay safe, warm, loved and thankful.

Comments on: "Honour…" (2)

  1. It is Veteran’s Day here in the USA. Sadly, the only sign of this is the fact that the banks are closed. No moments of silence, parades, memorials… my child’s school did not even talk about the holiday today, just business as usual. This makes me sad. I should set a better example. I could have taken my son to the post office and mailed a care package to soldiers. We could have visited a VA hospital. But I, too, feel too busy to slow down and acknowledge those who have fallen for my country’s freedom. I admire you for wearing the poppy. Next year I will do better.

  2. It is very sad because history does have a tendancy to repeat itself. War is war, horrid and painful and full of death. I think sending a care package to soldiers is a marvellous idea. Maybe send a Christmas care package.

Comments are closed.

