Spinning Thoughts & Tales ~

Downward spiral…

Staying true to my journal “of sorts” as this blog has become, I am returning to the good, bad and ugly life in a long-term care residence.  There have been many changes in the facility.  One very good change according to the memo; the hiring of more staff.  Thank you!  Truly, there is not enough staff to care for the residents.  Some, including my mother, cried out in distress and did not seem to get much response from staff.   I’m hoping more staff means more care or should I say more “aware” care.

Mama is spiraling down to the next level of being.  She is sleeping a lot, not eating  much, very anxious or very silent or stuck in first gear when she does speak.

Last week, she was in her own little world laughing at something funny in her head. I could not quite understand all the words.  My nephew was very surprised, actually shocked at her condition.  Thankfully she did come into her own mind before they left.  They had brought Mom’s newest great-granddaughter, Addison, for a visit.  She is a darling with huge brown eyes.  True to Mom’s personality, she did tell my nephew and his wife that Addison was a “crazy” name.   That’s my Mother,  always spoke her mind.  She truly is in there somewhere.

Mama is now in a “geri” chair which cradles her back, shoulders and head, letting her sit up higher, tilted back a bit, legs extended up and easier for her to see what is happening.  Apparently this is a temporary measure because of the edema in her left leg.  I brought coffee and cookies.  She didn’t want the mocha or the cookies.   So, I read my book and held her hand as she dozed off for another catnap.  Touch is so important.  I tend to stroke her fingers and she gives me a little squeeze.  Well, it may have been a jerky reflex.  Perhaps, it is just reflex but I say she knows I’m there.  Lunch was a noisy affair.  When she had enough of the ahhh…. lunch, she did want a cookie.   And she softly said, “love you too” when I left her sitting in her quiet room listening to music.

Stay loved.

Comments on: "Downward spiral…" (11)

  1. Oh Carol…….praying for you both. Tears again for you. Sending all the strength I can to you – this has been a long row to hoe for you and for your mom. You are a wonderful woman, and I am still so glad I got to meet your mom last year. I see where the strength comes from :)

    Your blog looks great, so colorful and neat. Very nice!

    Hope your weather is behaving. We had thunderstorms and a bit of rain. Just enough to damp down the dust here in the desert.

    Hugs to you,

    Pam

    • Thanks, Pam. We just had a 6.8 earthquake off the coast of Vancouver Island. I didn’t feel a thing, I was too busy concentrating on writing. Not freaking, cause you know I am a strong woman. Actually it is a beautiful sunny day, hot, a slight breeze and cool in my office.

      Isn’t this a colourful theme. I love it. Still tweaking things. Got the clustrmap up again, too.

  2. Beautifully written post, Carol. DH’s mom is also in a full-time care facility (for alzheimer’s). It’s so hard.

    And your site looks beautiful, too! love the changes. Scary about the earthquake, I’m glad you’re OK.

  3. Love to you Sweetie. And Mama too.

    My sister waited until all the September birthday’s were done with, then she left. Creating her very own day for us to celebrate her later on. I’m thinking that your mother is working on something similar.
    Julie

  4. Thanks, Julie. I just want her suffering to stop. Some people are offended that I am praying for her release from this earthly realm. She always said she was would die when she was 95. I have been expecting it this year as she will be 96 in December. I will celebrate her always as you have with your sister and loved ones.

  5. Carol, I don’t know who would be offended at your prayers. It’s only natural to pray for a release from a state like this. Hugs to you and your mom.

  6. Mama is now in a “geri” chair which cradles her back, shoulders and head, letting her sit up higher, tilted back a bit, legs extended up and easier for her to see what is happening.  Apparently this is a temporary measure because of the edema in her left leg.  I brought coffee and cookies.  She didn’t want the mocha or the cookies.   So, I read my book and held her hand as she dozed off for another catnap.  Touch is so important.  I tend to stroke her fingers and she gives me a little squeeze.  Well, it may have been a jerky reflex.  Perhaps, it is just reflex but I say she knows I’m there.  Lunch was a noisy affair.  When she had enough of the ahhh…. lunch, she did want a cookie.   And she softly said, “love you too” when I left her sitting in her quiet room listening to music.
    +1

    • Oh la – so true. We really were like two little girls brimming with excitement with a few wrinkles and wisdom to quote Julie.

Comments are closed.

