Spinning Thoughts & Tales ~

96 and counting…

Who would have thought it? I’m sure Mom never thought she would live to be 96.   When she was 90, she said she was going to die at 95 or after S & A have a baby.  Well, the year has come and gone and what a year it was.  A very big downward spiral physically, mentally and emotionally.  It really has been a roller coaster ride.  Many times I thought this would be the year but she has a strong heart. She is here for the very long haul.  I’m going to need a lot of money if I have inherited the “strong heart gene.”  If one has good health and mobility and a sharp mind, it wouldn’t be so bad to live well into one’s 90’s.  The key word is “if.”

I bought a beautiful bouquet, very festive colours to celebrate her birthday and Christmas.  I forgot the Purdy’s Turkish Delight.  Santa will have to put it in her stocking.   Mom did acknowledge it was her birthday and marveled at the number.  I couldn’t stay long, I have a cold.  They don’t like anyone visiting with a cold, fever, etc.  The staff were advised it is Mom’s birthday.  Many wished her a happy birthday.  She was very gracious and thanked everyone.  We had a little hug and a “love you” before I left.  As I was leaving the building I noticed the “STOP, No Visitors” sign and “Do not Cross” ribbons which were not there when I arrived.  The first floor has an outbreak of Norwalk, also known as the “winter vomiting flu.”   Life just keeps on throwing stones on my path.  Hoping Mom’s immune system will fight it off when the germs ride the elevator upstairs.  You just know they will.

A very happy birthday to my dear Mama.  Happy 96th!  Here we are at the last Christmas  party.

Comments on: "96 and counting…" (8)

  1. Happy Birthday to your beautiful Mama.
    Julie

  2. what a nice picture! you are both amazing!

    • Thanks, Barb. I hope I am as amazing as Mom is and was. Age and disease has taken so much from the essence of who she was.

  3. lilacacres said:

    96 years old. Amazing when one thinks of the things that have happened during those 96 years. You look wonderful as does your dear mom. I am glad you got to spend some time with her despite the cold.

    Love and hugs to you from far away!

    • I know. She has seen and heard a lot. Nothing wrong with her hearing!! Last year’s photo, I didn’t get to go as I had a cold. Love and hugs back to you.

  4. Happy Birthday to your Mama. I’m glad you got to visit with her, too. Lovely photo.

    • Thanks Delia, it was a short but sweet visit. Last year’s Christmas tea photo. We are aging gracefully. (ahem, cough)

Comments are closed.

